Pinterest Project of the Week – Bathroom Fun!

Okay, so this PPOTW is a little different. It isn’t quite as crafty, but it’s still DIY and all ideas were generated from Pinterest. Hopefully you’ll find a little inspiration in my DIY decorating and storage solutions for the bathroom.

I’m going to start with the best… Toliet Paper! If I had taken a before pictures, you would have noticed that I had an extra pack shoved halfway behind the toliet because, well, I didn’t have anywhere else to put it. But THANK YOU Ross for carrying this wonderful tp storage solution. The vertical storage allows me to slide it into a corner that would have never been used otherwise.

20120530-105321.jpg
Original Pin: Toliet Paper Storage

Jars are wonderful for so many things, and that includes bathroom storage! I found this cute, perfect sized jar at AC Moore for $1.99. Of course, I had to have it. (And I kind of want another one… I always feel like I need double, ya know, for symmetry reasons.)

20120530-110207.jpg
Original Pin: Jars & Canisters in the Bathroom

Do you have boring cabinets? I did! Switching out your knobs is such an easy update and makes a world of difference! (Another great thing is, the knobs can go with you wherever you go. Just keep the old ones.) I updated my over-the-toliet cabinet with these adorable knobs from World Market for only $1.99 each!

20120530-110508.jpg

20120530-110710.jpg
Original Pin: Beautiful Knobs

Towel rings are a thing of the of the past… let.it.go. Hooks are a much cuter (and cheaper) alternative. I found this cutesy wire heart hook at World Market for only $1.99! It holds my hand towel perfectly. Yes, I realize that I covered up half of the light switch with this particular project… we will see how long before that drives me insane and I end up moving the hook!

20120530-110830.jpg

20120530-110840.jpg
Original Pin: Hang Your Towels on Hooks

While cleaning my bathroom yesterday, I found bobby pins everywhere! No fear, a solution is here! Use a magnetic strip to hold all your bobby pins in one place (and if you find one as strong as mine, I guarantee they aren’t going anywhere… I’ll be lucky if I can get the bobby pin off!). My strip came from IKEA for about $2 (had it for a while and just now getting around to using it) but I also found a longer one at World Market yesterday for $4.99. Oh, and you see all those holes below my makeup board? I had an epic FAIL with the drill last night. That’s when I realized oh yeah, this strip is magnetic and my makeup board is magnetic, so duh I can just attach it there!

20120530-111157.jpg
Original Pin: Bobby Pins Are Magnetic. Duh.

Lastly, I wanted a cuter way to store my everyday beauty products on my counter. I found a few pins on Pinterest for using cake stands and loved it! While browsing around in Marshalls, I found this matching cake stand and bowl (I have no idea what this contraption was supposed to be). While I could’ve did a DIY for this, there’s no way it would have turned out so pretty! I love the look of all glass with beaded edges and you can’t really top the girly, sophisticated look for $15 ($10 for cake stand & $5 for bowl thingy).

20120530-111726.jpg

20120530-111740.jpg
Original Pin: Cake Stand for Your Bathroom
DIY Pin: DIY Cake Stand for Your Bathroom

This PPOTW post shows you how to decorate on a dime and how to incorporate pieces meant for other uses (like a cake stand). I spent 2.5 hours last night working on my bathroom (cleaning, organizing & decorating) and I am happy to say that it is almost finished! After the boyfriend does a little handy work this weekend, I should be posting the big reveal!
20120530-113044.jpg

Stay tuned and be sure to check out what everyone else is doing over at Mommin’ It Up for their Pin For the Wednesdays post!

5 thoughts on “Pinterest Project of the Week – Bathroom Fun!

  1. Janelle says:

    Omigosh, love love love this post!! I don’t have a lot of counter space so I especially like the cake stand idea!

Be sure to let me know what you think!

