Mother’s Day Makeup Bouquet

Happy late Mother’s Day all! I hope every mother had a wonderful, relaxing day this past Sunday. My family had a cookout at my grandmother’s house and all the family was there. The party ended up indoors due to the rain but it was nice to see everyone, especially my Mama. <;3

My mother is a special woman who inspires me in many ways. She taught me to be respectful, independent, humble, kind and thoughtful, just to name a few. She's always been my role model in life and I think I turned out pretty good! πŸ˜‰

For Mother's Day, I decided to get her a tube of Lancome mascara that she had been hinting about. Of course the deal-seeker in me waited until I could find a deal! So, a few weeks ago Lancome was having their free gift promotion and I struck gold! A few times a year Lancome offers up a promotion where you get a free bag full of goodies with any $36.50 purchase (I think).

Instead of simply giving my mom the mascara and new her goodies in a boring paper bag, I decided to jazz it up a bit. While this makeup bouquet idea came entirely from my own creative brain, I am sure it crept into my brain because bouquets are all over Pinterest. I am very proud of this project and am happy to show it off here! Take a look…

20120514-210458.jpg
Mother’s Day Makeup Bouquet – Overall View

20120514-210538.jpg
I used a pretty vase I already had from a previous project (I love to reuse), stuck two squares of styrofoam in the bottom (which came out of some packaging that I had), and filled it with confetti to hide the styrofoam (you can get this for around $1).

20120514-210705.jpg
I used big colorful flowers that I found at Michael’s Arts & Crafts store for BOGO (total cost around $5)

20120514-210823.jpg
Left side view of Lancome products: everything shown here was FREE! Wahoo! I bet you’re wondering how the makeup is in there like that? I simply taped them to some wooden skewers that I already had in my kitchen!

20120514-210929.jpg
Stab the skewers into the styrofoam and viola! Right side view of Lancome products: everything show here, except mascara, was also FREE! Double Wahoo!

Okay, I’ll go ahead and admit that I purchased myself a few things so I got double the free products and was able to give her a few extras. Usually, the freebie with purchase includes a free makeup bag and about 7 mini products.

Well, did I do a good job or what?

13 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Makeup Bouquet

  1. momstheword says:

    That’s awesome! What a fun idea and I’ll bet she was thrilled. I know I would be! Thanks for linking up to Making Your Home Sing Monday and I’d really appreciate it if you could do a courtesy link back to my blog next time. Thanks!

  2. Pam says:

    I loved my Mothers Day gift! Lots of goodies that I like and use!! And in such a pretty container. So creative! Love it!! Thank you to my sweet, thoughtful, beautiful daughter. I’m a lucky Mom. πŸ™‚

Be sure to let me know what you think!

