What’s For Dinner – Pesto Pasta {for the human} & Bland Diet {for the canine}

So, this week has been hectic and not going as planned. Normally, I go down to my Nanny’s house every week and cook her dinner. Well, today I just needed a break. I spent four hours at the vet, had a headache and had so much to do! Ultimately, I cancelled dinner so I could take care of my sick puppy. Turns out I still need to eat dinner, so I went ahead and made the scheduled meal.

20120503-213135.jpg

This week’s meal was Cashew Pesto Pasta. I crossed through the cashew part because I simplified this recipe by using canned pesto instead of homemade.

Recipe: Serves 4, Cook Time 15 Min

1 12oz box of farfalle pasta
1/2 cup EVOO
2 pints grape tomatoes, halved
Salt and pepper
2 cups flat-leaf parsley leaves
1/4 cup roasted cashews
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving
1 clove garlic
Juice of 1/2 lemon

1. Preheat oven to 375°. In a large pot of boiling, salted water, cook the pasta according to package directions until al dente. Drain, return the pasta to the pot and toss with 2 tablespoons olive oil. Cover to keep warm.
2. Meanwhile, on a baking sheet, toss the tomatoes with 2 tablespoons olive oil; season with salt and pepper. Roast in the oven until wrinkled, about 12 minutes.
3. Using a food processor, finely chop the parsley, cashews, parmesan, garlic and lemon juice. With the machine on, slowly add the remaining 1/4 cup olive oil and process until smooth; season with salt and pepper.
4. In a serving bowl, combine the pasta, tomatoes and pesto. Serve with more parmesan.

Or, you can do it like me. This was mostly an inspiration recipe and I didn’t even look at it while cooking. I cooked the pasta. Then I added in two spoonfuls of pesto (to taste), handful of halved cherry tomatoes and topped it off with shredded (because I like that better) parmesan cheese. Viola!

On another yet related note, I spent more time cooking for my dog tonight than I did me. The vet advised me to put him on a bland diet for the next week or so until he’s back to full speed. So, I ran to the grocery store and got to cooking.

20120503-215734.jpg

For dinner, Colby had boiled boneless, skinless chicken breast and white rice. He will be having this for a while. Looks “bland” to us but he sucked it down within 10 seconds.

20120503-220042.jpg

Here’s Colby being a pitiful sick puppy while we waited at the vet. He probably loved being held for four hours straight. Aww, love my puppy. 🙂

**~** The End **~**

2 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner – Pesto Pasta {for the human} & Bland Diet {for the canine}

Be sure to let me know what you think!

