Pinterest Project of the Week: Wall Art

I’ll admit it, I am addicted to Pinterest. I have over 1,400 pins on my personal account (I started a new account for this blog) and well, I have probably put about 1% of those to good use. I am hoping to change that by attempting one Pinterest project a week. There are so many good ideas, crafty projects, recipes and inspiring pins available that I don’t know how I’ll ever choose or keep up, but I am going to try.

This week’s Pinterest project is something I have needed for a while. The space of above my television has been empty for months… okay, more like a year and a half. Part of me wanted to do a wall decal, another part a purchased piece of art, and then I found this inspiring piece and realized I could make something really unique.

20120426-152738.jpg

This picture caught my eye and I immediately knew I wanted to do something with it. AH-HA, the space above my TV! I realized that I couldn’t do the pretty white fabrics because they would just blend right into the wall, so instead I chose to bring out some of my living room accent colors. I live alone so my apartment is decorated very girly. šŸ™‚

20120426-152933.jpg

I found the embroidery hoops at Michael’s Arts and Crafts Store and the fabric at Hobby Lobby. The hoops were all on clearance (WOO-HOO) except the one big circular hoop, in which I used a 40% off coupon. You know me, I have to get my deal on. Unfortunately, the fabric wasn’t on sale and there wasn’t much I could do about it. They ranged from $3.99-8.99/yard.

20120426-153204.jpg

20120426-153241.jpg

Total this project cost me around $20, and I have a piece of unique wall art that I am pretty happy with.

Next project: See that red lampshade in the third picture above? I cannot get that lampshade off to save my life. Everyone keeps telling me to use pliers… well, I keep forgetting! All I know is that red is NOT in my color scheme anymore, so I am browsing for a crafty way to cover it up! Stay tuned, because I know you all are just dying to see what I end up doing.

P.S. My friend over at Every Kiss is A Cursive Line made her own version of this project. Check it out HERE.

By the way, the pictures are “blurry” on purpose. I used an effect called “soft focus.” I am also playing around with my photography/editing skills. Hehe.

9 thoughts on “Pinterest Project of the Week: Wall Art

  1. David says:

    That was pretty creative of you. That project brings back a lot of memories, lol. Funny how two people did the exact same thing. Colby and his toys.

  2. brennagrimes says:

    Love this! Such a cool idea. Love the colors, would also look super awesome in front of a window (which is kind of what that top photo looks like) but without curtains so the sun could shine right through the lace.

    • alwaysashley03 says:

      Thanks for checking out my post! And you are right… this would look cute in a girls room. My cousin is having a baby girl, I should suggest something like this for her. Thanks for the additional idea!

    • alwaysashley03 says:

      Haha you’re welcome. Yes, I was determined to decorate my apartment girly while I had the chance. Once you move a boy in, you start losing lace and the color pink! šŸ˜‰

Be sure to let me know what you think!

