What’s For Dinner – Cajun Shrimp, Spinach & Grits

Every week I go to my grandmother’s house (whom I call Nanny), and fix her dinner. It’s a sort of tradition we have created since my Papa passed away last year. I enjoy cooking, she enjoys eating and we both enjoy the conversation. I cherish these weekly dinners, although I wish she lived just a little bit closer (she lives about 45 minutes away out in the country).

20120422-095505.jpg

This week I made Cajun Shrimp, Spinach & Grits which a twist on a favorite lowcountry dish. It was truly delish and I will definitely be adding this to my recipe book to make again. It was pretty simple to make – 20 minutes prep time & 20 minutes cook time (serves 4) – so try it out yourself. Enjoy!

1 cup quick-cooking grits
2 tbsp olive oil
1 1/2 lb large peeleed and deveined shrimp (I purchased small shrimp kabobs that were on sale)
2 tsp Cajun or blackening seasoning (I probably used more than this)
2 tbsp fresh lime juice (totally walked out the door & forgot my lime)
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced (I use the refridgerated finely chopped… forgot it too though)
1 cup frozen corn, thawed (I used canned)
1 bunch spinach, thick and stems discarded (I left the stems)

1. Cook the grits according to the package directions.
2. Meanwhile, heat 1 tbsp oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Season the shrimp with the Cajun seasoning and 1/4 tsp salt and cook for 2 minutes. Turn and cook until opaque throughout, 1-2 minutes more. Remove the skillet from the heat, add the lime juice and toss to coat. Transfer to a plate.
3. Wipe out the skillet and heat the remaining tbsp oil over medium heat. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, until golden, 1-2 minutes. Add the corn and cook until heated through.
4. Add the spinach and 1/4 tsp each salt and pepper and cook, tossing for 1 minute. Return the shrimp to the skillet and toss to combine. Serve over grits.

Recipe taken from Woman’s Day magazine, May 2012 issue

**So, even with all my forgotten ingredients and cheap changes, this recipe was yummy!**

3 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner – Cajun Shrimp, Spinach & Grits

Be sure to let me know what you think!

